Letters

Diary
As hard as I wish, I will never be one of those people who is incredibly tidy, although I am someone who is unstoppable when they get into a cleaning frenzy.

 
But that’s a topic for another post.
 
Last weekend amongst one of these cleaning frenzies, I stumbled upon three letter writing sets I was gifted in past birthdays and Christmas’. It struck me how normal this gift had seemed at the time (even though most of the cards are still unused) and I was wondering what someone younger than me might think if they received a letter writing set as a present. Would they even know what to do with it?
 
I remember in primary school we were very specifically taught how to write a letter, even down to writing the address on the envelope. But I know my brothers, who are only four and five years younger than me, did not get the same lesson.
 
I realised technology has taken over the communication field and I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. Last Christmas my brothers and I sat down together to write a letter to my Uncle who had blessed us with amazing gifts. We were very grateful and it felt special to be thanking him in this way – like it would mean something more written down. Then I think, perhaps it shouldn’t feel special, it should feel normal.
 
Our postman always jokes that ‘Christmas’ is a swear word at his office, I guess because this is the only time of the year people send post. Even then, I think most people just text their ‘thank you’ now.
 
Regardless of the method, I’m still rubbish at communicating!
 
Coincidentally I received a letter from my cousin just a couple of days ago. I won’t go into the context, because it’s personal and doesn’t actually involve me directly. Despite it being slightly heart breaking… I was so pleased to receive that letter. All I could think to do was write back because the thought and feeling was so lovely I wanted to return it.
 
It’s odd how those little things are lost behind pixels.
Leave a Reply

