Books and I

Diary

Books don’t really get enough appreciation on my blog – so I thought I would do this tag I found via spinesandcovers.com. Let me know if there are any others you think I should do as I quite like writing and reading these posts!

Would you Rather? Book Edition:

 

Read only trilogies or stand alones?

I’m not sure I’ve actually read any trilogies as such – but I loved my book series when I was younger. More recently I prefer reading stand alones. I tend to just finish a story in one sitting, which is a lot easier with just one book!

 

Read only male or female authors?

This is a very odd question! I don’t tend to think about the author when choosing the book – I prefer to make the choice based on how well the title grabs me or through recommendations. To not give a vague answer, I believe most of my favourite books are written by men.

 

Shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?

I don’t buy anything online if I can help it, but Amazon would most likely be my point of call.

 

All books become films or TV shows?

Easy, TV Shows – especially if they’re available on Netflix. I love to enjoy and drag them out as far as possible.

 

Read 5 pages a day or 5 books per week?

Perhaps reading five pages a day would be better for me as I would be reading more often, rather than just binging on one book occasionally.

 

Be a professional author or professional Reviewer?

Author: that’s why I’m writing this blog! I love the creative outlet and don’t feel like I’m much good at anything else. The thought of writing – stories, blog posts, helping other writers – is always on my mind and the one passion I’ve held from childhood. I think it would be impossible for me to stop.

 

Read only your top twenty books or only read new books?

I would reread my favourite 20, not that I can decide what they would be on the spot! Most of my new reading material comes from other blogs (which I’m happy about too) and I’m more into watching Netflix in my free time with no regrets.

 

Be a Book seller or a Librarian?

This is probably the hardest question for me. On the one hand, being a librarian means I can share all my favourite stories and “keep them alive” per se. But on the other hand, being a book seller means I can help new writers and be critical of the content quality we publish. Overall I think I would prefer the latter. Plus I hope to sell my own books in the near future!

 

Read only your favourite genre, or any genre but your favourite?

As much as I’m trying to branch into different areas, I don’t want to be without horror! My best reason *excuse* is that I mostly write my stories in this genre, so I need to know what’s what and what’s not… promise.

 

Read only ebooks or physical books?

I’ve never read an ebook, so unfortunately I can’t rely on experience to answer this one! I love the feel, smell and look of a physical book – but I do wonder whether ebooks are more eco friendly. Does anyone know? This would probably kilter my decision. Plus, the beauty of an ebook is that you can own thousands and they will never require more space than your pocket. My room is like a bargain book dumping site – the authenticity of physical books really appeals to me, like they protrude the hard efforts of the author – so I find it difficult to let them go!

 

Now it’s your turn! If you have completed the would you rather book tag, leave a link in the comments so we can all share answers. I’d be really interested to know if you agree/disagree with my responses.

Leave a Reply

