Through the Newsprint Fray

Blogging/Writing Tips, Inspiration

One band I love for their continuous ability to make me love their music is REM. Recently I have been listening to Daysleeper; which by the way, has a wonderfully creative music video you can see >here<. This song has always resonated with me for its deep relatability. Although I am not technically a ‘day-sleeper’, sometimes I do feel the day is just a moment between the nights I get to create. If not quite a day-sleeper, I am most certainly a day dreamer!

 

In particular, this line tends to stick with me: I see today with a newsprint fray.

 

And the more I think about it, the more I realise this would be a great opening to a post about writing.

No matter what is reported, it seems journalists are always breaching some sort of “reader’s morale” – whether it’s badgering, picking the wrong stories, not having the facts (or any facts!). But perhaps, we can take a leaf from their books after all:

 

As a day-sleeper, the narrative of seeing today with a newsprint fray suggests the narrator only knows what he reads. That, in my opinion, would be a rather successful approach to take with fictional descriptions. Although you may know endless details about the world you have created, your reader does not, and your aim as a writer is to make them believe what they cannot see: Just as a newspaper article would do for a day-sleeper.

 

Of course, I am not suggesting anyone completely runs away with the idea and describes every little detail of everything the reader could see. It takes practice to adjust a good balance between stopping to take in the view and making it to the top of the mountain before dark. As I am reading back through my fictional writing, I am realising there is too much the reader won’t see and ultimately be confused by. But as long as I go in with fresh eyes (not assuming the reader knows everything I do), it becomes easier to work out.

 

Writers, you won’t want to hear this, but letting someone else read your work before publishing will also help to identify those last few kinks. I’ll stop prodding your repressed angst there…

 

If you need a little break from the heavy writing, may I suggest a little more REM? They truly are and excellent band.

 

Hope I’ve helped you to some degree my friends. Now get back to the project you’re procrastinating from!

Happy writing,

Signature

2 thoughts on “Through the Newsprint Fray

  1. For me, getting someone to proof your work is essential. I’ve worked in marketing and publicity and done a lot of writing for work where accuracy is critical. Every word stands out.
    Quite a lot of authors I know, have multiple beta readers before they publish. You need a few people who can read it from a different focus such as somoene who’ll pick up your typos, making sure there’s consistency throughout, readers as well as good editors. I can pick someone else’s typos a mile away and am pretty good with commas. However, I oiften miss things proofing my own work, which is an almost universal difficulty.
    xx Rowena

    Like

    1. Completely agree. Sometimes I will think I’m on a roll with a storyline but when someone else reads, it just doesn’t make any sense! It’s a difficult thing to get over as a writer, but it has to be done for the sake of art. I was just thinking today how I would need some ‘beta readers’ so I’m glad this is common 😛 – Hannah x

      Like

Leave a Reply

